Where is the best place to live?

 

I am originally from Brazil but I’m currently living in Oxford. Every time I go back to Brazil on holidays, I have this strange feeling that I don’t fit there anymore.

At first, it seemed crazy, I lived in Brazil most of my life and I have only been living in Oxford for two years. So, I thought a lot about it and the conclusion I reached is that I had never actually fit in Brazil. I have always felt that I didn’t belong there. There’s nothing wrong with Brazil, on the contrary, it is a wonderful country. Many people think Brazil is a great place to live. The truth is that when I lived there, I never thought I didn’t belong there, I just thought I didn’t belong anywhere. That’s because I didn’t know anything different from the life I had there.

Nowhere is perfect. If you expect it to be, you will never be satisfied anywhere. There are things that are better in Brazil and other things that are better in England but the important part was to weigh the things that were important to me, my priorities. According to my priorities, Oxford is a better place to live at the moment (although not the best). But I am well aware that Oxford is not the best place to live for everyone. There are actually many Brazilians that come to live here and can’t wait to go back.

A proof of that is that people from England constantly ask me “Why the hell would you want to leave Brazil?”. But at the same time, people from Brazil ask me how they can move to England and say how lucky I am to be able to live here.

The best place to live is the place that satisfies your most important priorities. They say the best place to live in the world is Vienna in Austria but I’m sure a surfer wouldn’t think so.

3 thoughts on “Where is the best place to live?

  1. Pingback: The Happiest Countries | The Happiness Box

Leave Happy Thoughts

