10 Happy Songs

When we are feeling down, sometimes we just want to put on our headphones and mope while listening to sad songs. But what we really should be doing is listen to happy songs. I always have a happy playlist on my iPod or Spotify or whatever I use to listen to music and I try to listen to it as often as possible. So here is a compilation of 10 songs that will lift your mood:

  1. Corinne Bailey Rae – Put Your Records On: Since we are talking about music, nothing better than this great advice “Girl (or boy), put your records on, tell me your favourite song, you go ahead, let your hair down” . Doesn’t it make you want to play your favourite song and dance away on a sunny day? 

 

  1. Sheryl Crow – All I Wanna Do:There are many reasons for a song to be happy, maybe the melody, maybe the lyrics. In this case, the lyrics definitely play a big part. When I listen to this song, I always think that this should be the whole point of life, just have some fun.

 

  1. Bobby McFerrin – Don’t Worry Be Happy: Who doesn’t know this one? It’s like a mantra of happiness. You can learn some rules of happiness through this song.      1-“In every life we have some trouble when you worry you make it double”.        2- “When you worry your face will frown and that will bring everybody down”.      3-“It will soon pass whatever it is.”

 

  1. Bruno Mars – The Lazy Song: This is such a cheerful song. And don’t you just love those lazy days when you can sit around and do nothing? Even though it doesn’t make any sense because of the lyrics, this is actually my wakeup alarm. It just makes me want to sing and move my head from side to side or back and forth.

 

  1. Blink 182 – All The Small Things: Another cheerful song that makes you want to jump. But this one reminds me of my teenage years. Plus the video is funny.

 

  1. Bob Marley – Three Little Birds: Another happiness mantra. How can you not feel at least a little bit better when listening to this song?

 

  1. Jack Johnson – Banana Pancakes: This is my official morning song. After my wakeup alarm I need something relaxing. I think this is one of the most relaxing songs ever. All Jack Johnson’s song are pretty relaxing, this is my personal favourite though. Also good to remember to appreciate what you have. “We got everything we need right here and everything we need is enough.”

 

  1. Poison – Nothing But A Good Time: One of those songs that just makes you want to party and forget about everything else.

 

  1. Chumbawamba – Tubthumping  (I Get Knocked Down): A great reminder to keep going whatever happens. Sometimes life is hard and you get knocked down but you should always get up again and never give up.

 

  1. Israel Kamakawiwo’ole – Somewhere Over The Rainbow/ What A Wonderful World: I decided to leave the best for last. This is possibly the most awesome song ever. It’s a mix of his amazing voice, relaxing rhythm and beautiful lyrics that just makes the whole thing perfect. You can listen to them separately as well but this medley is doubly happy.
14 thoughts on “10 Happy Songs

  1. Hi again 🙂
    I’ve been thinking about a repply to this post. When I say I’ve been thinking I mean it… 🙂 Like I said I was thinking about Pam’s post, I still am. 🙂 Your blogging is so catching, it always keeps me thinking and I love it 🙂
    One thing I find interesting about music is that we all have our preferences and the fact of a song being cheerful is not determinant on whether it makes us feel this same way. Another day I was reflecting a little on how music can touch us in different ways and also differently depending on the context. You took a music therapy course, so if I say anything wrong, correct me, please… hehe I remember last year going to a department store and trying to find small gifts for my nieces and nephew for Children’s day. This kind of thing usually demands a lot of time and research from me because toys can be really expensive, so it is a real struggle to find something nice, that may entertain kids for some time, something that they would like to play with and that would put a simle on their face, but yet has a reasonable price. The thing is the following… Last year when I went there, Adele’s 21 album was being played. It is considered a very sad album, in fact most songs are really sad, but it was good to listen to it, it was enjoyable. This year I went to the exact same department store, on the exact day (Saturday) and in the afternoon as well. I don’t know who was the singer and which was the album that was being played… The beat and the lyrics were cheerful but in some repetitive way and I really don’t know how to describe it but it was so loud and nasty, that I had to leave that place after the second track started! So I think sometimes a song that is somehow enjoyable to us personally, even being sad, can make us feel happier than other songs that have a happy and cheerful message and melody but that does not catch us in some way. It all sounds obvious now that I said all these things… Obviously if you listen to a kind of music you don’t like you’re not going to be happy, but I waht I meant is that some sad songs sometimes can do good to us too, in an unexpected way. I will come back to comment here on some songs I find uplifting, it just took me a long time to write thins and I ended up saying nothing… hehe…

    • Hi =) I see what you mean. I think meaningful songs can makes us happy and this is very personal as you said. I think sometimes it’s more because of the memory than the actual song. I don’t agree with sad songs making you happy though. But that’s because if you call it a ‘sad song’, it means you find it sad so how can you feel happy? But I do believe everyone has a different perception of what a happy and sad song might be. I don’t actually think Adele’s songs are sad. I think they are very emotional and intense but they are not sad for me because I don’t feel sad when I listen to them. I actually read an article that listed songs that were proved to make people happy and ‘Someone like you’ was among them but now I can’t find it anywhere.
      When I was looking for it, I did find this other interesting article. It says that emotionally intense songs give you pleasure because of dopamine. It explains that it doesn’t matter if they are happy or sad, as long as they are emotional, they have an addictive effect on people.
      The link is here:
      http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sciencetech/article-2101046/Adeles-Someone-Like-You-Scientists-identify-bits-songs-make-cry.html

      Another thing is that according to Music Therapy that are specific songs that relax everyone in general. But it doesn’t work if you have a bad memory related to that song or something like that. So therapy songs are also personal. A sort of analysis is necessary before therapy.

      • Wow, this is very interesting and a very reasonable explanation on how music affects our moods differently from what we may think. This is such an interesting topic, I would love to research more about it too, thank you for the link! 🙂

  2. Uau, you are really into your research hauhauh congrats!
    I cannot believe you put “Somewhere over the rainbow/What a wonderfull world”, it is my favorite song ever!!I don’t know if you remember, but it played on my wedding cerimony (the Hawaiian version).
    But now that I think about it, maybe the reason I like it so much, is that I cannot hear this song without feeling lighter and relaxed.

  3. As I said before, here I am again. After reading this post I thought a lot about what songs make me happy, then I decided to share them with you here too 🙂 Maybe I am “over commenting” here, but I just love the posts, I can’t help it! 🙂
    I love Three Little Birds and Somewhere over the rainbow, they would be on my list as well, for sure 🙂

    One song that I love and is meant to make us feel happier at bad moments is “My Favorite Things” from the movie I love the most, “The sound of music”. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=td8rLo-us3c
    This one and “Climb every mountain” from the same soundtrack are amazing songs. The first one encourages us to think positively and see the bright side of life when things are not so good. The second one helps us to find strength to overcome problems and accept challenges.

    i love the version of “September” by Pomplamoose! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xycnv87N_BU There is not too much to explain, it just makes me happy, I love the video, and it makes me want to dance, which is very difficult actually 🙂 The original version is in the soundrack for “The Intouchables”, which is a movie I liked very much too.

    1234 by Feist is another one I love – http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ABYnqp-bxvg
    I’m passing through a sad moment after a break-up and I know for sure this song makes me happy, because not many things have had the same effect lately… First notes to this song=smile 🙂

    Island in the Sun by Weezer – The song and the video are fantastic and so relaxing – http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0C3zgYW_FAM

    Here comes the sun – I like The Beatle’s original song, but love Nina Simone’s version – http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NJiC6cA3dUA

    Fool in the rain – Led Zeppelin – http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t2015S3A-lg happy tune with sad lyrics… kind of ironic. A little bit like Boys don’t cry by The Cure

    This is it 🙂

  4. I loved your happy songs. Thanks for sharing. I’ll add some of them to my playlist =)
    “My favorite things” is so cute.
    I noticed you had a break-up but didn’t say anything in case you didn’t really want to talk about it. But you should definitely send us an email if you need to talk. Even if you don’t want to talk about this, I think you should email anyway cause we haven’t talked in a while. I think I can speak for Pam and Camis when I say we’re always here for you.

  5. Pingback: Songs To Listen To After A Break-up | The Happiness Box

  6. Pingback: Why You Should Love Those Freckles | The Happiness Box

  7. Pingback: Happy 2013! | The Happiness Box

  8. I see what you like about this video I love it! The sharpness, the mmvoeent. I know nothing about film or video effects, but I would like to know how they made this video look the way it does.Ok, I like the song too!

  9. Pingback: 5 Inspiring Videos Under 5 Minutes | The Happiness Box

  10. Pingback: 7 Ways To Test Your Happiness | The Happiness Box

Leave Happy Thoughts

