Why We Need To Get Rid Of Fear

I’m reading a book called The Tibetan Art of Serenity by Christopher Hansard and this book explains that all our problems are caused by fear. You need to get rid of fear to live the life you want. Fear encourages the abuse of women, poverty, misinformation, misuse of economics, agriculture and industry. Fear is the root of environmental pollution, global warming, social unrest, the abuse of human rights, terrorism and global breakdown. It is by finding serenity that we can heal our individual fears and make this world a better place. The path to stop our fear starts with identifying them. Which fears do we suffer from?

“The greatest benefit of fear is that when you understand it, you know that you can heal it.”

There are twelve types of fear. Identify your fear from this list:

Fears of the Everyday Mind

  1. The fear of being yourself
    This is the only fear that all people have and all other fears come from this one.
  2. The fear of other people
    It is this fear that causes violence, terrorism and evil. In many societies, this fear is encouraged.
  3. The fear of power and control
    People think  that having power over others will bring them satisfaction but power and control should only be motivated by inner development.
  4. The fear of love
    This is the fear of hurt and rejection. When we love, we are vulnerable.
  5. The fear of loneliness
    We need to discover the pleasure of our own company.
  6. The fear of fear itself
    Sometimes people avoid life and become isolated and lonely because they want to avoid fear.
  7. The fear of death and dying
    This is not the fear of the event but of the discovery. What happens when I die?

Fears of the Material World

  1. The fear of success and failure
    Some people achieve success and don’t know how to live with it and take responsibility for it. Usually the same people can’t live with failure and accept the loss of their dreams.
  2. The fear of poverty and wealth
    These fears come from the desire of controlling the material world. You want lots of money because you feel unsafe and you fear poverty because you think you’re in constant danger.
  3. The fear of the future and what it will bring
    This fear comes from the dissatisfaction and inability to be content.
  4. The fear of achievement and self-esteem
    We want to achieve more to raise our self-esteem but we fear achievements because our self-esteem is too low to cope with it.
  5. The fear of war and illness
    This fear is bigger today that it has ever been because media makes us aware of their existence and we are forced to confront them every day.

Now  which of these fears do you suffer from? After identifying them, you are ready to meditate on them, let them go and finally find serenity.

Cover of "The Tibetan Art of Serenity: Ho...

Cover via Amazon

5 thoughts on “Why We Need To Get Rid Of Fear

  1. It made me want to read this book too. It is interesting how the types of fears seem to be a vicous circle. The five first ones made me think a lot about myself, specially the first one. Fearing being ourselves is so serious because it does not allow us to know who we really are, and yet it is so real and common. Minimizing this fear should be a real step towards happinness, but it involves so much work.
    Your blog handles happiness in a very intelligent way, it moves us into deep thinking. Thank you.

  2. Thanks 🙂 I have been reading a lot and doing some deep thinking myself. That’s why I decided to share this with everyone.
    I have only read the beginning of this book so far but I found that being aware of our fears is really helpful in trying to understand what makes us happy and unhappy.

  3. I agree with Valéria. This blog is full of knowledge and useful information. Thank you so much for this idea. I hope you continue to share your wisdom 🙂
    It’s obvious for me that I suffer from the “fear of being yourself”…I’m very shy with people I don’t know and I only feel comfortable being myself with people I know well and trust. And to add to the pot, I also have a huge fear of failure and of the unknown.
    But now that I know and admit, how can I meditate about it?

  4. I’m glad you liked it =) I wouldn’t say it’s my wisdom though. It’s the results of my `research`, other people’s wisdom that inspired me.

    Actually I was going to post about the meditation but I had to return the book to the library. I’m going to get it again so I can write more about it but I remember that one of the meditations recommended was something like this: You have to imagine your fear being slowly washed away by your breathing until it becomes transparent. Then you visualize your fear being burned and turning into ashes. Finally the fire descends upon your body and burns all the fears and negative things inside you.
    According to the book, you should meditate on one fear per day for at least 7 days.

    But I believe that being aware of your fears already helps because you pay attention and recognize when you feel them so you can make them weaker.

  5. I agree with what you wrote in your last comment, Lou. Being aware of fears we have is the first and fundamental step towards their defeat. There’s nothing we can do if we don’t know we have them nor understand them. It’s an essential part of overcoming them. I don’t know how to explain, but being aware of how the mechanisms of fear work already help to sweep them away, because you can already see how “pathetic” and inbuilt they are. You see them by what they are, mechanisms that your mind and life experience have created.

    From the first list, I identify n. 06 and 07. I still don’t know so well how the first one works, but I think it’s here and n. 07 is something I guess I’ve always been afraid of. Sometimes I try to imagine, to acknowledge that someday I’ll die and it’s horrible. I wonder about terrible events at times.

    From the second list, I identify with the first three ones, although I’ve dealing with n. 02 and 03 much better since I left Brazil. Number 01 is still very alive. I only learned I was afraid of both success and failure after I read a book on time management – the one I lent Valeria. It was a great realization, because as you’ve written here, I was able to identify it and understand it. So it became easier to fight it.

    There’s no easy recipe to overcome fears. I think it’s really about being aware of it, of how it works and keep going even if you feel the butterflies in your stomach. It’s cliche, but the best way to beat them is really to face them. It brings a sense of joy and being alive that is unbeatable.

Leave Happy Thoughts

