Happiness Is A Choice

“People universally tend to think that happiness is a stroke of luck, something that will maybe descend upon you like fine weather if you’re fortunate enough. But that’s not how happiness works. Happiness is the consequence of personal effort. You fight for it, strive for it, insist upon it, and sometimes even travel around the world looking for it.”Eat Pray Love

I really love this quote because it explains the whole point that led me to research about happiness and consequently the reason why I have this blog. I think you need to fight for happiness and not just wait for it to fall into your lap. Sometimes that means you have to make changes. They might be big changes: quitting your job, getting a divorce, moving to another country , travelling the world. Or small changes: sleeping well, waking up earlier, taking up a course, going out more. But sometimes that fight for happiness doesn’t necessarily mean you have to actively do something. Sometimes the effort you have to make is to actually practise acceptance. Instead of fighting against your present situation, you have to accept it and make peace with it in order to find happiness.

I don’t think it’s a choice in the sense that you can just decide “I’m happy now” and you automatically become happy but I think it’s a choice to go after it.

I have been striving for happiness, reading about it, trying different things, making changes. And you might ask me: is it helping? Absolutely! I did go through a rough patch even though I was looking for happiness. I felt like giving up but I didn’t and now I’m finally reaping the rewards of my efforts. I believe that this is the meaning of the quote. You need to try hard to find happiness even if it’s not something you do consciously. Most people don’t wake up one day and think “I’m going on a search for happiness.” However, happy people have decided at some point in their lives consciously or unconsciously to go after what they want, to practise acceptance, to find contentment, etc. I believe it’s more difficult for some people than it is for others. That can happen for various reasons. Maybe your brain, your family or your circumstances don’t help but it is there for you to find. We can all get it if we try hard enough.

7 thoughts on “Happiness Is A Choice

  1. Beautiful! And completely true. I’m so happy you started this blog, it’s going to be so good for you…and for us!
    I think not just happiness, but everything in our lives only happen if we go for it, but is much easier to wait for the universe do it for us, and then complain about it…

  2. Hi, I really enjoy your blog. We’re both on very similar journeys! Thanks for posting and stop by sometime. I get inspiration from your posts so feel free to drop by – maybe I can inspire you back. Thanks for posting! Peace x

    • Thank you 🙂 I’m so glad my blog is a source of inspiration. I read your blog and I really liked it. I think I commented on it before as well.

  3. I think the title sums it up pretty well. Happiness is a choice. Or better: happiness is a world view, a stance you take upon how you lead your life.
    Happiness is my main goal in life. That’s been very clear for some years now, because I can’t really understand what else we should place in a priority list, right? If not happiness, what else? I’ve also realized that, as the title suggests, happiness is not something that happens suddenly. it’s something that must be built by people. There’s sweat in happiness. I also feel it’s not something so external to us. We talk about happiness as some sort of separate entity, but I’ve come to believe that happiness is more like a state of happiness inside of us.
    I think there’s happiness too through other feelings, such as compassion.
    Happiness is also an old question that man has been thinking about for centuries and its idea changes with time.

  4. Pingback: Why I Love Changes | The Happiness Box

  5. Pingback: Happiness Is A Skill | The Happiness Box

Leave Happy Thoughts

