Thank You

I live in the UK and here these two little words (together with Sorryare probably the most spoken ones. People might be considered over-polite here sometimes. When I lived in Brazil, no one used to thank the bus driver. Some people might do it but it’s just not part of the culture there. In the city where I lived, you left the bus through the back so even if you wanted to thank them, you wouldn’t be able to. Anyway, after living here, saying “Thank You” (or “Cheers”) became automatic. So today, I got the bus home and as I was getting off I said my usual  “Thank You” to the bus driver. However, for some reason, it got me thinking this time. Why am I thanking him? Is it `Thank you for stopping for me`? Is it `Thank you for taking me to this place I needed to go`? Is it `Thank you for being a bus driver`? But then I’d just be thanking him for doing his job. Hmm, and that’s exactly what it is. And why not? Why not thank someone to do their job? We thank the shop assistants after they served us here, the waiters when they bring the food, the taxi drivers, delivery people, etc. Thanks for working with this. If you didn’t have this job, I wouldn’t get this service I need.

I’m a teacher and when I teach people, you could say I am only doing my job. However, I can’t help but feel better after a tiring day when my students leave the classroom and say…guess?…”Thank You”. And I can’t help but smile when I receive feedback from the students and at the end of the page there’s a big “Thank You” and a happy face.

So that’s my post today. Let’s thank away. These two little words are so easy to say and can make someone’s job a little bit worthier.

And thank you all my readers for making this blog so meaningful to me =)

thank you note for every language

3 thoughts on “Thank You

  1. Interesting….I was thinking something familiar some days ago – it’s amazing how these days people get surprised when you are nice to them.
    I always like to treat people as I would like to be treated, and I always try to be nice and to say nice things to everybody.
    And it’s funny how that changes everything! You can even get a better service, ’cause people are so greatfull for not beeing treated like shit (as they are used to) so they want to be nice too.
    When you give love, you receive love 🙂

  2. I agree with Pam, when you give love, you receive love. Gentileza gera gentileza, by our street poet from Rio, poeta Gentileza. And you do get better service, since people will be more “enthusiastic” about it.
    I am now working as a waitress and I realize how much I have ignored people that work within the service sector. I have thanked the bus drivers even in Santos (!), paid service charge at restaurants, thanked cleaners, but I had never really thought about all they do. It was kind of automatic, default, as being served in a restaurant by a waiter/waitress. Now I surelly see things in another light. It’s incredible the difference these words make, together with a smile. And that’s my approach as a waitress too, even when I make mistakes. It never fails.
    My mom stressed the importance of being polite in my education so much that I think I overdo it sometimes and the it becomes cowardness when I should really speak my mind. Anyway…
    Politeness is cultural and varies so much from country to country. I learned a lot in Sweden, land of the super polite as well. No matter what, you should be polite. There’s even a joke about swedish politeness: when they see somebody skip the line, they get super angry, but they hold it down until the person leaves. Then… they can curse and complain. But never before the person leaves. Hehe, it’s probably hard to find it funny it if you’re not in Sweden, but as they say all the time, tack så mycket! Thanks so much for writing this blog for us. 🙂

Leave Happy Thoughts

