Songs To Listen To After A Break-up

I know some people like to listen to sad songs about love after a break-up but because I’ve always tried to fight this sadness and depression, I found other types of song to listen to after a break-up, more empowering than sad. Let’s be honest, most of these songs are no masterpieces. However, their lyrics can be really empowering. They talk about having confidence instead of feeling sorry for yourself, they talk about being strong instead of getting down.

So here is my list of 12 songs to listen to when someone breaks your heart:

1. Beyonce – Best Thing You Never Had

“You don’t deserve my tears, I guess that’s why they ain’t there.”

“Thank God I found the good in goodbye.”

 

2. Justin Timberlake – What Goes Around…Comes Around

 

3. Aerosmith – Don’t Get Mad, Get Even

4. Timbaland ft. One Republic – Apologize

“Tell me that you’re sorry, didn’t think I’d turn around and say ‘It’s too late to apologize'”

“I loved you with a fire red, now it’s turning blue.”

 

5- Kelly Clarkson – Since U Been Gone

“But since you’ve been gone, I can breathe for the first time.”

“You had your chance, you blew it. Out of sight, out of mind.”

 

6- Richie Kotzen – Let’s Say Goodbye

“Look in my eyes and I’ll know it’s over and I will go on from right here with the rest of my life.”

 

7- Lúcia Moniz ft Nuno Bettencourt – Try Again

“I can’t believe you’d say these things if you’re in love with me. Try again.

I never thought you’d ever say those awful things to me. Try again.”

 

8 – Jennifer Lopez ft LL Cool J – All I Have

“It’s such a shame but I’m leaving, can’t take the way you mistreated me.”

“My pride is all I have. You’ll be needing me but too bad.”

 

9 – Joss Stone – You Had Me

Hey listen, you’ll be missing out on my love and my kissing.”

“You had me, you lost me, you’re wasted, you cost me. I don’t want you here messing with my mind.”

10 – Beyonce – Irreplaceable

“I can have another you by tomorrow. So don’t you ever for a second get to thinking you’re irreplaceable.”

“So since I’m not you’re everything, how about I’ll be nothing?”

 

11- Christina Perri – Jar Of Hearts

“Don’t you know I’m not your ghost anymore? You lost the love I loved the most.”

“I have grown too strong to ever fall back in your arms.”

12- The Corrs – I Never Loved You Anyway

“I can’t believe I endured you for as long as I did.

I’m happy it’s over, I’m only sorry that I didn’t make the move before you.”

 

And two extra ones if you’re really angry:

Cee Lo Green – Fuck You

Eamon – Fuck It (I Don’t Want You Back)

Click here for my list of happy songs =)

7 thoughts on “Songs To Listen To After A Break-up

  1. Great list!! Specially ’cause all the songs are meant to give us strength. I’m the kind of person who listens to depressing songs when I’m feeling down, but that doesn’t do me any good, does it?
    And also, nice choices 🙂 Most of them I know and love, but had never realized how helpfull they can be!
    XOXO

  2. I used to listen to depressing songs too. After I studied Music Therapy I started to think more about how songs affect our mood. I like some sad songs but I don’t listen to them when I’m actually feeling sad anymore.
    I’m glad you liked the list =)
    xx

  3. I used to really like “What Goes Around Comes Around” by Justin, who had a pretty decent pop album most say, but then I realized how sexiest it is. Now I can’t listen to it anymore. It’s a very good song, but have you payed attention to the lyrics? It’s the same old story. When a guy cheats, he should be forgiven, he was out of his mind, deserves a second chance, didn’t realize how good a woman he had bla bla bla…. When a girl does the same, then she’ll burn in hell forever and soon realize that the new guy is an asshole and then end up in loneliness and regret. That turns me off.
    It’s funny that I liked this song as a warm up for a party or something, it never really made me think of breakups.

    One good pop song that lifts you up is “See you when you’re 40”, by Dido:

    And Cool, by Gwen Stefani:

    “And after all the obstacles it’s good to see you now with someone else…”

    Then it’s really over. 🙂

  4. Those are very different from my songs, right? Hehe Maybe when something bad happened and you really disapprove the other person’s actions it will be easier to just think it was not the right thing and move on, so these songs might as well help to leave sorrow behind and pursue happiness 🙂 I dind’t know most of these songs, but let me tell you sth, I like Joss Stone very much, and there is one song of hers that totally reminds me of you… It is “Right to be wrong”. I don’t think you’re wrong!! Just thought it might be good to emphasize it… hehe… but the lyrics talk about making your own choices and choose your path. “You’re entitled to your opinion, but it’s really my decision”. I remember your boldness and some of your posts, or conversations when I listen to it. I like the live versions better. 🙂 Thank you for the post!

  5. Pingback: Why You Should Love Those Freckles | The Happiness Box

  6. Pingback: Happy 2013! | The Happiness Box

  7. Pingback: 10 Relationship Pieces of Advice Not To Be Ignored | The Happiness Box

Leave Happy Thoughts

