Why I Love Changes

“To be interested in the changing seasons is a happier state of mind than to be hopelessly in love with spring.” — George Santayana

Personally, I love the change of seasons. The spring is so happy and colourful, I love sunbathing and wearing dresses in the summer, the fall is absolutely beautiful and in the winter I can look so elegant with boots and scarves or cute with earmuffs.

However, this quote is much deeper than just seasons. I think the idea here is that you will be much happier if you embrace changes and find a way to enjoy them than if you hold on to a temporary state as if it’s permanent and the only way you feel happy.

Changes are natural and they are part of life. The seasons are a perfect example of this. You can’t expect to live in the summer forever so you need to find pleasure in all seasons. Maybe you don’t like the elegant clothes in the winter but you can still enjoy staying in and drinking a hot chocolate while snugging your blanket.

I have to admit it’s easy for me to say because I’ve always been fond of changes. I love those days before travelling when I walk down a street and think “I won’t be walking down here for a while”. But I think even if you’re not a lover of changes like me, you can still try to accept it and see the positive side of it.

Changes make us grow and make life more meaningful. We always remember those days when something unexpected happened. It becomes a memory and even if it’s a bad one, it still brings meaning to life and makes it more interesting.

 

9 thoughts on “Why I Love Changes

  1. That’s true. Although changes don’t equal losses so it’s not true for every change. Sometimes you don’t lose it, it’s just different. And like you said, you will gain something else.

  2. I think that what we have to accept is the fact that changing is inevitable. Everything changes, green leaves turn to brown. There are those huge changes in life, that you’ll always remember, like losing someone, but there are also the small changes that we don’t even notice. We’ll notice them later. So there’s no way to avoid changing, that would be killing yourself, right?

    We can also try to change if we want to, that’s a different story. It’s not part of something inevitable, but rather something we decided to do for a reason. It is usually very difficult to change, even if we have chosen to.

    Personally, I have noticed, most of the time, that almost every change came for the better. It might not look like it right then, but later…

  3. Accepting changes is something very hard to do for most people, me included. I scary to change, cause you are not sure if it’s going to be better for you or not.
    Also, if we are talking about changing habits, it’s even more difficult. I believe everyone can change, but it takes time and a lot of effort!

  4. Pingback: Do Something Different Today | The Happiness Box

  5. Pingback: Break Your Rules | The Happiness Box

  6. Pingback: Nature is the Best Teacher | dyamabe's Blog

Leave Happy Thoughts

