How To Find Out What Job You Love

Some people are blessed with this certainty about what they want to do with their lives from an early age. However, if you, like me and most people, are not one of those lucky ones, you might benefit from this post. I am not even going to talk about how you HAVE to work with something you love in this post. I’m just going to give you some steps to find out what is it that you love. There are 5 questions that you need to ask yourself:

    1. The first and most obvious question is: If you were a millionaire and didn’t have to work for money. What would you do with your time? What kind of job would you do for free?

    2. If that didn’t help much, think about the games you played when you were a child. They can say a lot about you. I used to love pretending I was a teacher.
      Now, there are some games that all children used to play: cars, dolls, superheroes, hide and seek, tag, video games, etc. Therefore, you need to think about the unusual ones you used to like. For example, I also liked to stand at my balcony counting how many people were wearing each type of clothes, quite unusual for a kid. This actually shows my tendency towards research. My brother used to spend loads of his time drawing cars and air-conditioning equipment. It’s like he was meant to be a mechanic engineer. What unusual activities did you like when you were a kid?

      IMG_5363lou

    3. Next question is only for those who read. Besides fiction, what kind of books interest you? What do you like to read about? It could be articles as well. I always loved reading about psychology. Once I found a book that made a link between psychology and yoga. For me, it was the best book I’ve ever read, I couldn’t put it down.

      IMG_20120701_193235

    4. What other things are important to you? One of the things that made me want to be a teacher is flexible working hours and lack of routine. I have to use the computer a lot but my job doesn’t require me to stay glued to a computer inside an office. 9-to-5 jobs would drive me crazy. Maybe you’re the opposite. Maybe you want security and all weekends free. Maybe you want to work outside. What little things matter to you?

    5. What kind of people do you like to spend your time with? It doesn’t seem like this matters but it really does! Think about it. If you work the usual amount of hours, during your working week, you spend almost 50% of your waking time with the people you work with. If they are the kind of people that get on your nerves, it’s definitely going to have an impact on how you feel about your job. Also consider that you might want to work alone depending on your personality.

If you still don’t know, that’s also okay because…

 

 

2 thoughts on “How To Find Out What Job You Love

  1. I must say that if I were a millionaire, I wouldn’t work. I would just travel, then probably get tired of a nomadic life and find other things to do. But no work. Yet I think that this first question is really important. I think that if you manage to answer the question about which kind of work you’d do for free, you’re really on the path to discover what to do, professionally speaking.

    The third question is very good to discover which career you want to have and if maybe you need to to go university to get an education in that area.

    The next question, about the “little things”, is actually another very important one. I think it turns out that these small things might not so small at all in practical life. They have a direct effect on your happiness. The same goes for the colleagues, because you end up making friends at work.

    I also pretended I was a teacher when I was young. My sister and I had our own students, lessons and we took it very seriously. Our students, the dolls, completed many grades at our school. 🙂

    Great post!

  2. Pingback: Find Out What To Do With Your Life | The Happiness Box

Leave Happy Thoughts

